Hello, and welcome to the first post about my Queensland Tea Meetup.  I created the meetup group as I wanted to showcase the wonderful tea-rooms, cafés, boutiques and restaurants around Queensland that have just a strong a passion for good tea as I do.  I wasn’t disappointed because three days into creating the meetup, I had over twenty members who had joined and expressed a desire to meet with like-minded tea enthusiasts to sip and talk tea.  Tea-tastic!

For the launch, I created an event at The Hawthorne Pantry and shared a cup with 7 tea lovers.  It was fabulous.  One of my articles was recently published in the Australian Tea Guide and so we started there, sharing our experiences of Tea Cultures from around the world.  One of the meetup members (whom I affectionately refer to as Tea Lovers) shared her story of how she was invited to a Japanese Tea Ceremony here in Brisbane and shared the link to her blog which is an intimate description with accompanying pictures of how the Japanese Tea Ceremony was performed.  Lots of nodding of heads occurred when I talked about masala chai and the Indian tea culture and of course, no tea talk would be complete without talking about the differences between High Tea and Afternoon Tea.

Another Tea Lover did a show and tell with the wonderful jasmine pearls he brought with him and so we talked about the differing qualities of jasmine teas found in restaurants, Chinese supermarkets and online boutiques.  There were lots of great questions and discussions to come out of the meetup such as why is white tea so-called, we went around the group to ask what each other’s favourite tea was, whether we drank tea with or without milk.  It was a really interesting mix of Tea Lovers from one coffee lover, to seasoned tea drinkers who brought their own personal collection of teas to show us.

My husband pointed out the irony of the Queensland Tea Meetup launch where we were sipping a Ashitaba Herbal Info :o) but tea or herbal, loose leaf or tea bag, it was a great first meetup and I thoroughly enjoyed sipping tea with others and hope that others enjoyed the experience too.

